Update: Video Game Launch, more progress

14 Mar

I’ve made more progress on my Mario Kart 64 video game launch kit. It has been an interesting journey so far with much trial an error, but I would have to say that I have been enjoying myself. I hope that you enjoy.

What you see:
Under the top of the mushroom, a painted sky and the beautiful Princess Peaches crown.

undersidemushtop

nothing but blue skies underneath this mushroom top

What you see:
The entire mushroom
primed and painted with the proper sized white felted circles hand sewn on the jersey knit red fabric that was wrapped around stuffing and a styrofoam wreath

redmushroom

super mushroom!

what you see:
inside the mushroom (work in progress)
it has painted sides, a felted bottom, and the road is made of foam. and yes, those trees are legos. TM

roadoffoam

down the ramp we go!

what you see:
a painted easter egg/yoshi’s egg. I had to buy white spray paint that specially bonds to plastic. Then I painted the green spots with a basic acrylic.

yoshi

yoshi’s egg

what you see:
A trophy nestled on a foam platform. I painted a wooden box black and glue the carved out foam inside the box as well as gluing the top of the box to the bottom of the box, given it that podium effect.

youwon

1st prize!

Tell me what you think...

